Teens and the Law - Alcohol
Zero Tolerance for Driving Under the Influence
In Washington State if you are under the age of 21, you don’t even have to be buzzed to be busted. On your first offense with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of .02-.07 percent you could lose your license for 90 days. Get caught again and you could lose your license until you’re 21.
Minor In Possession (MIP) or Other Alcohol Violations = Lose Your Driver’s License
If you’re between the ages of 13 and 17, any alcohol offense could result in the loss of your driver’s license for one year, or until you are 17, whichever is longer. This includes Minor in Possession (MIP) and/or Consumption of Alcohol (MIC).
It is also illegal in Washington State to:
- Provide alcohol to anyone under the age of 21.
- Possess alcohol or be under the influence if you are under 21.
- Loan your ID to a minor.
Get more details about alcohol laws and penalties here.
Teens and the Law - Marijuana
In 2012, Initiative 502 legalized marijuana use for adults ages 21 and older. However, there are several restrictions.
It is illegal in Washington State to:
- Drive after using any amount of marijuana if you are under the age of 21.
- Purchase and possess marijuana if you are under the age of 21.
- Possess more than 40 grams of marijuana (this is a felony).
- Provide or sell marijuana to a minor under the age of 18. The penalties are up to 10 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
Get more details about marijuana laws and penalties here.